Golfers, tourist, tailgaters, and beach bums have inquired about golf cart laws in South Carolina. In this article, I’ll explain what is required for one to drive a golf cart on a public road and the restrictions that apply.
First, a golf cart owner must get a permit decal and a registration from the SCDMV upon payment of a five dollar fee, proof of ownership, and proof of liability insurance. You also have to declare under penalties of perjury that you will maintain liability insurance throughout the registration period. The registration period is five years and must be renewed every five years or when the permit holder changes his address, whichever occurs first. The statute does not state what the penalty is for failing to maintain liability insurance.
Second, a person operating a permitted golf cart must be at least 16 years of age, hold a valid driver’s license, and must have the registration certificate issued by the DMV, proof of liability insurance, and his driver’s license.
Thirdly, a permitted golf cart can be operated:
During daylight hours within 4 miles of the address (you can have up to two addresses) on the registration certificate on secondary streets where the posted speed limit is 35 miles an hour or less;
OR 4 miles from the entrance to a gated community so long as the cart is being operated on a secondary highway where the posted speed limit is 35 miles an hour or less during daylight hours;
OR during daylight hours on an island on a secondary street where the speed limit is 35 miles an hour or less and is not accessible by a bridge designed by automobiles.
You can cross a highway or street where the highway has a posted speed limit of more than 35 miles an hour.
A political subdivision may reduce the area in which a permitted golf car may operate from 4 miles to two miles.
ALEX KORNFELD IS 2022 LEGAL ELITE ACCORDING TO GREENVILLE BUSINESS MAGAZINE
Greenville Business Magazine has named Alex Kornfeld as a legal elite. The publication states the honor is given and that only attorneys in the region are...
VOICES DEFENDANT HEARS IN HIS HEAD DECLARED HEARSAY; DEFENDANT’S RIGHT TO TESTIFY IS LIMITED IN STATE V. BREWTON
Lance Antonio Brewton was charged with murdering Natalie Niemitalo. Brewnton and Niemitalo had an on-again, off-again relationship for approximately two...
Do South Carolina prisoners get conjugal visits?
No. Currently, only four states allow inmates to receive conjugal visits: they are California, Connecticut, New York, and Washington. In Lyons v....